What is CCSP Certification?

You are currently viewing What is CCSP Certification?

Cloud computing was the miracle that the business world needed for its storage and operational dilemmas. Indeed it came with some extras in its package including low initial investment and operation cost, easy and flexible access, easy low-cost scalability, and collaboration. However, just like any other system of human making, it did not lack in loopholes and security was only one of the challenges that presented itself. As cloud computing advances, the risks landscape becomes even more sophisticated. Today, the IT professional with CCSP training and certification as part of their qualifications is as demanded as cloud computing itself.

The demand for public cloud service offerings is so huge, its rate of adoption cannot be overlooked. By the numbers, the year 2018 was projected to be worth $ 186.4 billion, an increase of $33 billion from the previous year and more than 21% growth. Given such a demand, among the top concerns for businesses using the cloud would be security. The knowledge that security risks like unauthorized access, cyber-attacks, compliance, controls, and availability problems are adequately addressed is the assurance that most business owners need to be settled. The good news is, with good security measures data can be safe in the cloud.

What is CCSP?

CCSP stands for Certified Cloud Security Professional. The main focus of the certification is to put an emphasis on acceptable standards and compliance with the code of ethics as far as cloud security is concerned.

A CCSP has demonstrated knowledge of the infrastructure, the applications, and equipment used in the cloud computing field and has gained considerable skills, knowledge, and experience managing and securing information in the cloud.

In addition, he has knowledge of and complies with ethics and procedures laid out at (ISC)².

A CCSP can be any professional in the IT or Information Security field including

  • A systems engineer
  • A security engineer
  • An enterprise architect
  • A systems architect
  • A security architect
  • A security administrator
  • An IT security manager

Why do you Need a CCSP Certification?

Getting a CCSP certification has immense benefits.

  • You will have opened yourself up to career opportunities in the IT industry.
  • You will have validated your knowledge in cybersecurity and cloud computing as well as expressed your support of good practices, conduct, and ethics in the information security space.
  • A CCSP certification authenticates your knowledge and experience in cloud security-related functions.
  • Maintaining your CCSP certification means that you will be aware of and equipped with the latest technology in cloud security. In other words, you will be ahead of matters relating to cloud security and anticipate attacks before they happen.
  • Knowledge in cloud computing and security, which is what the CCSP certificate validates, can be applied across different industries and cloud environments.
  • You will be part of a community of cybersecurity experts.

Getting Certified

This certification is backed by two globally recognized industry leaders in cloud computing and cybersecurity.

  • CSA – Cloud Security Alliance
  • (ISC)2 – The International Information System Security Certification Consortium

(ISC)2 offers 6 security certifications. These include:

  • Systems Security Certified Practitioner (SSCP)
  • Certified Information Systems Security Professional (CISSP)
  • Certified Authorization Professional (CAP)
  • Certified Secure Software Lifecycle Professional (CSSLP)
  • HealthCare Information Security and Privacy Practitioner (HCISPP)
  • Certified Cloud Security Professional (CCSP)

To get a CCSP certification, you are required to have:

  • 5 years paid work experience (internship and part-time work experience included) three of them being in Information security and one year working in any one or more of the six CCSP areas.
  • Architecture and design
  • Infrastructure security
  • Operations
  • Cloud data security
  • Application security
  • Compliance

If full-time experience, it should accumulate on a monthly basis working for a minimum of 35 hours every week. On the other hand, if you are counting part-time or internship experience, you need to have worked between 20-34 hours per week.

However, if you do not have the experience but have the CSA’S CCSK certification, you can still earn the CCSP certification.

  • Without work experience, the other option is to still take the CCSP certification exam and become an Associate of (ISC)² then work for six years to gain the required experience to get a CCSP certification.

Your Study Options

  • After registering for the exams, take advantage of the resources provided by (ISC)² to prepare adequately. These include e-learning programs, flashcards, training seminars conducted by approved instructors.
  • In preparing for your examination, you may opt for classroom studies, online self-paced, or instructor-led studies offered by accredited training providers.

The Examination

CCSP certification is offered by (ISC)² and the CSA and has been endorsed by the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).

The CCSP examination is composed of 125 multiple-choice questions and has a time limit of 4 hours. It will test the following areas:

  • Architecture and design – 19%
  • Infrastructure security – 19%
  • Operations – 15%
  • Cloud data security – 20%
  • Application security – 15%
  • Compliance – 12%

The examination can be taken online at the Pearson VUE website or at an accredited Pearson Professional Center.

To get the certification, you will have earned 700 or more points out of 1000 in the CCSP examination.

The CCSP examination costs US$549 every time it is taken.

Maintaining Your Certification

CCSP certification is valid for three years. Within these three years, one needs to:

  • Maintain 90 continuing professional education (CPE) credits (30 credits for each year) which is earned by taking part in IT and Cyber Security events and seminars,
  • Comply with the code of ethics set by (ISC)²
  • Get an endorsement from another (ISC)² certified professional. Getting the endorsement is simple and is done online.
  • Pay an annual $100 maintenance fee towards (ISC)² membership.


Termination of your certification may be due to failure to attain the required credits within the CCSP cycle and/or failing to pay the annual membership fee within 90 days after the certification expires.

In the event that your certification has expired, you can renew your membership by

  • Retaking the CCSP examination and passing with the required points.
  • Getting an endorsement from another certified CCSP.

Now that you know all about the CCSP certification get started in your cybersecurity career today!

What is CCSP Certification?